Polygamy and Shame

ThreeringsWhen Mark came home yesterday he was upset. I thought it was the same old story, so I didn’t pretend to notice, just went about my business. I have an awful lot to do right now since I’m on the lecture circuit and need to prepare. He came and sat next to me.

After a while he told me he’s been getting nasty comments from people.

We haven’t hidden the fact that we’re living polygamy. We haven’t taken out ads either, but we have done nothing to conceal it. Graham has never been ashamed. In fact, I know that some women have come on to him simply because they find it attractive that he’s secure and confident enough to be able to share his wife 🙂 It’s been more of a struggle for Mark. Arab men have a completely different outlook on things.

I think when Mark took on a second woman, it added to his status among the businessmen he consorts with, men from Oman, UE, Saudi… I don’t know what he has told them about her not being here anymore. Now obviously, some of them have found out that I’m polygamous. And they’ve been heckling Mark about it. Not in too obvious a manner, not enough for him to be able to retort. But enough to make his skin crawl.

So, he’s upset. Angry, ashamed and sad. He says he doesn’t know how to deal with it. Whether to hide, or take the bull by it’s horns. And how does one do that in a case like this?

I told him I don’t care the least what those misogynist bastards from Saudi think of us.

If I love him, and he loves me, that should be enough.

I mean, he didn’t bother about my feelings of shame when he imported that teenager now, did he?

5 thoughts on “Polygamy and Shame

  1. All things considered, it’s easy to see why Mark feels down despite the fact he started this all. It is what it is now. Since he already accepted the situation, the main ingredients for inner peace may just be: open and reassuring communication, realizing the only people that should access the relationship are the people involved -you and him- and finally…time. Have a lovely day, Fiona! 🙂

  2. You’re right. And he must remember our marriage is just him and me. Difficult at times though. Thanks – you too! 🙂

  3. I think its better if those men and everyone in their circle knows your story so that other men with similar plans think 100 times before doing what Mark did. They need to understand that they live in a free democratic country where women have equal rights. I however feel sorry for Marks situation and understand how hard it must be for him to face those men.

  4. Exactly. I’m planning on giving a piece of advice to Mark later today 🙂

  5. Can you take some action against the club maybe report that this club encourages illegal activity (polygamy, human trafficking) or have sexist agenda.

Leave a Reply

