A Matter of Convenience

The first really autumnal Sunday.

I’m working on a new set of lectures but I am having troubles concentrating.

Graham is out mending fences, maybe I’ll take a sledgehammer, go out and join him. I love being in the Chilterns now, the hills are starting to change colours and beautiful shades of yellow and red are beginning to appear. It’s been too warm to have a fire, but I’m looking forward to cosy autumn evenings in front of the fireplace with a book and a box of chocolates.

And hopefully two marriages alive and well.

At times like these, I do understand why islamic rules are what they are. It would have been awfully convenient to be able to lock my first husband up in our home, forbid him to leave the house, order him to look happy and spend his time catering to my needs, knowing he could never divorce me or disobey me. I could threaten to beat him or marry a third husband if he ever disobeyed me or failed in making me happy and satisfied. šŸ˜‰ Yeah, I can understand why men created religion that way.

Well well. In a few days, I’ll know more about my future. Right now, I’ll just put the computer away and take the dogs with me to join my second husband in the meadows.

8 thoughts on “A Matter of Convenience

  1. I love you, Fiona; But I must speak the truth. Life with graham is so much more peaceful. I, myself, am addicted to my first husband, every day of our separation has been a ripping, a tearing of my soul. Still, the conflict is always there. I agree, we are meant, as elevated minds, to live monogamously. My favorite number has always been one.

  2. Love you too! And thank you for you honesty, I trust you completely and I know you only want what is best for us. You make me a bit worried though, my favourite number has always been 22… šŸ˜‰

  3. They could never make polygyny work if they did not also give men sole power over divorce, the right to take the children, the right to keep their women locked up, covered up and the right to beat them if they disobey them. And a whole system of people telling women this is the way it must be because god has ordered it.

  4. I hope the women around me including my mother, aunts, cousins, neighbors can ever understand it or be able to think like this but unfortunately they won’t because that has been taken care of by their religious upbringing. They don’t want to be the bad women who support the evil Western lifestyle ! Simply love what you said here “At times like these, I do understand why islamic rules are what they are. It would have been awfully convenient to be able to lock my first husband up in our home, forbid him to leave the house, order him to look happy and spend his time catering to my needs, knowing he could never divorce me or disobey me. I could threaten to beat him or marry a third husband if he ever disobeyed me or failed in making me happy and satisfied. šŸ˜‰ Yeah, I can understand why men created religion that way.”

Leave a Reply

