Polygamy – New Beginnings

Source:Wikimedia Commons

Source:Wikimedia Commons

My son is home from Oxford.

Since his father became polygamous, my son has only been home on weekends when my husband has been with #2. They haven’t met once since his father brought home the news.  To my son, his father is dead.

Last summer, my son went interrailing during summer break, and stayed away almost all summer. When he came home he stayed in the Chilterns, in Graham’s flat and with friends.  Now, we’re in a spot of trouble. Since my husband’s #2 is in Oman, he has sold the semi in St Albans. Now, my husband is at home all the time, so my son can’t/won’t come here any more. And since Graham is about to move into the annex, there won’t be anywhere for my son to live whilst in London, and it will be more difficult for him to meet Graham.

So, I’m going to see an estate agent about finding  a small flat. Maybe a three bedroom flat. That way my daughter could live there (she’s at LSE) instead of sharing a flat with friends as she has been doing now, and my son could stay there whenever he’s in London and there would also be a room there for me or for Graham if either of us ever feels the need to get away for a night.

We have almost finished moving Graham into the annex. My husband has been helping, serving lunch and carrying furniture. Who would have thought… They still eye each other like a couple of mastiffs though. I wonder if there’s anything I can do about that?

Tonight, I’ll be spending the night with Graham in the annex for the first time. Exciting! Our new home. A new beginning. But I do admit, it will feel a bit weird knowing my first husband is just a few feet away in our bedroom…

One thought on “Polygamy – New Beginnings

  1. “They still eye each other like a couple of mastiffs though. I wonder if there’s anything I can do about that?”

    Yes. Be grateful, and don’t interfere with who they are. And BTW, thank you for demonstrating a potential response to this situation.

Leave a Reply

