Re-Entry into Polygamy

Wedding_rings_photo_by_Litho_PrintersIt’s a strange feeling. I have been feeling monogamous now for three weeks. It’s the first time since my husband came home and told me he had married a second wife, that I have had three weeks in a row together with the same man.

It’s been like polygamy rehab.. πŸ™‚ It’s been awfully good for me! I’ve been able to relax and distance myself from my situation which has given me a chance to see things more clearly. And I have arrived at some conclusions..

In short, my husband had a complete meltdown over there. He called me and cried and yelled, begged and pleaded. Over and over again. Luckily my parents in law are extremely wise people and they allowed him to vent without interfering until they just said enough – it’s time for you to be a man and face up to the situation you have created. So my husband wrote me a long letter. He has offered #2 a divorce, but she refused. He says she is still hoping he will divorce me so she can have a marriage license, even though he has told her this is never going to happen. She says that she totally prefers staying with my husband’s aunt in Oman to going back to Yemen. So my husband will support her, they will stay married, and he will visit her at least once every four months. Fine.

He has submitted to the fact that I will continue to be polygamous, and he has accepted that we will stick to our schedule. He says that this is obviously his test and if that’s the way he wants to deal with it, well ok. He has also agreed to having Graham move in to the annex. Graham is still thinking about it. He says it will make it more difficult to deal with the jealousy, but he also badly wants to be able to get off the four day schedule. So, I’ll wait and see.

I was really sad to say goodbye to Graham. This vacation has given me a glimpse of what monogamy with him could be like. Maybe I would be able to do it? I don’t know. But right now, I feel I must give my husband a chance, after all he has been through.

He’ll be home very soon, so I have to be off. Thank you all for your kind messages, I will start answering and posting asap! πŸ™‚

3 thoughts on “Re-Entry into Polygamy

  1. Very curious post. I have heard about monogamy in marriage, but never read anything from a direct source. Can women in your culture have monogamous relationship too?

    Very good writing.

  2. Ha ha, your comment and your blog both made me laugh! Thank you – I needed it.. πŸ™‚ I have to admit reading your blog fills me with a desire to pat you on the head and say good luck! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

