The Reason there are more Women in Hell is that Muslim Polygamist Men end up there, and their Wives, as usual, Sacrifice themselves to Keep them Company :)

So, yesterday we were entertaining a client of Graham’s at a restaurant. He said I would be in for a surprise, and when they arrived I could see what he was talking about. The man was Saudi, and he had brought his two wives… 🙂

At first,this made me really happy. Sometimes, living polygamy in the UK can be a lonely business, and meeting with other people sharing this lifestyle can help me feel, well normal.. 😉

The man was extremely polite, the way most Saudis I’ve met have been, and the wives seemed very sweet. We started talking about the weather, sight-seeing and the Royal Family, polite ordinary dinner talk. They had really enjoyed visiting the Tower they told us, and they had admired the crown jewels.

However, the man said, they felt that people had treated them awkwardly. They were used to having people look at them, as they said probably in response to the niqabs. But this time they felt, the stares and the comments had been about the two wives. They had felt that people had been overtly hostile.

The man said that he found it tragic that a society which prides itself in its tolerance and openness still holds such attitudes, that people should learn to respect other people’s culture, religion and choices. He was very eloquent on the subject of cultural harassment, intolerance and religious and ethnic oppression and held that attidudes against polygamy were based on racism and religious fanaticism and claims of cultural and moral superiority.

I said I agree with a lot of what he was saying and that I can identify with their experience, since I myself am polygamous, sharing my life with two husbands. Graham just smiled…

I can tell you, you could have cut the silence with a knife….. 😉

Then, while the two wives slowly moved further away from me in the sofa, the Saudi started raving about how unnatural and disgusting the thought of a woman with two husbands is, how immoral and devastating polyandry would be to society, how women who are allowed to decide over their own lives destroy civilization… With two husbands – WHO IS THE LEADER?? he screamed…. I almost said that I am, but I held my tongue… 😉

Graham looked him straight in the eye and said that those views, in his opinion, are outbursts of cultural harassment, intolerance and religious and ethnic oppression and that he holds that attidudes against polyandry are based on sexism and religious fanaticism and claims of cultural and moral superiority.

The Saudi looked like he was going to implode, but one of the wives actually giggled…. If glares could kill she would have fallen down dead the way her husband eyed her…. I hope she didn’t get too severe a beating when they came home…

I am not a religious person, but I do believe there is some wisdom to be found in religion, e.g.:

Thou hypocrite, first cast out the beam out of thine own eye; and then shalt thou see clearly to cast out the mote out of thy brother’s eye.

2 thoughts on “The Reason there are more Women in Hell is that Muslim Polygamist Men end up there, and their Wives, as usual, Sacrifice themselves to Keep them Company :)

  1. It is permitted for man to have many wives, 1,2,3, or 4. It is not permitted for woman. Woman must be chaste with one man. It is forbidden for woman has 2 man.

  2. I beg to differ. I am not muslim. I believe in equality, human rights and not doing to others what I would not have them do to me. I especially hold that rule to be sacred when it comes to people I love. You obviously don’t. Judging from your name, am I correct in believing you are of asian or arab origin? In that case, you’re from the colonies, and centuries ago christian beliefs would have claimed that you as a coloured person would be inferior, unable to govern yourself or even suitable material for slavery. Would you agree with this? Or would you agree with me that all people are equal and have the same rights and duties? Or would you say that you are of medieval beliefs, just that you don’t claim that coloured people are inferior, bound to obey and serve, but that women are?? Because in that case, you belong to the people who are working hard to prove that people who claim that muslims are inferior in intelligence and morals are absolutely right…

Leave a Reply

